diet user reviews

Nutrisystem Reviews: Read User Reviews (or Submit Your Own)

nutrisystem logo

User reviews: Nutrisystem is a popular meal delivery diet, but does it work? Here’s what our readers have to say. (If you’ve tried Nutrisystem, please submit your own review for others to read!)


Reviews Summary:

3.5
3.5 rating
3.5 out of 5 stars (based on 15 reviews)
Excellent40%
Very good20%
Average7%
Poor13%
Terrible20%

User Reviews:

Here are our latest reviews from customers who have tried Nutrisystem:

Not good

1.0 rating
January 14, 2019

Food is not that good and be careful of the auto delivery sham. Big penalty if you quit auto-delivery (early). Plus I didn’t lose any weight, only in my pocketbook!

Donna

Worth every dollar in my opinion

5.0 rating
January 5, 2019

Working great for me. Lost 12 pounds in the first month. Tried WW, but I didn’t lose weight. Nutrisystem is not a magic pill or cleanse, but that’s the point, right? thanks!

Edna S.

Nutrisystem works!

5.0 rating
January 2, 2019

Yay, thanks.

Dora D.

Starting Nutrisystem again next week

4.0 rating
December 18, 2018

I didn’t experience increased pooping, however, older people using this diet are at an increased risk for gallbladder inflammation. It is unknown why, but if you have digestive issues to begin with, you may want to try another diet. I am starting Nutrisystem again next week, it always works for me and usually I’ll gain back 5 pounds in Christmas season so this is a yearly tune up for me. I am in my mid 50s. RN in Seattle

Pamela Brucks

Customer service is a joke!

1.0 rating
December 12, 2018

Costumer service is a joke! I received my frozen foods to continue my second month, and there was no dry ice so everything was melted and dethawed. I called and they said to throw it out and they’d send new and that its be here by the end of the week. Now here a week later still nothin. I call and the lady tells me its still “processing.” Then says they’ll credit me $10 on my next order. Here we paid $350. And thats the “best” they could do! After this order im done. No will be making my own meals!

Christine B.

This diet has changed my life

5.0 rating
December 11, 2018

I cannot say enough about this product, this product has literally changed my life!! I wasn’t sure at first whether or not this would work, but I called Nutrisytem and spoke to Brian. He walked me thru the entire program and what to expect. My first shipment arrived and the first thing I noticed was how much food there was. I thought I would basically be starving myself. The food is FANTASTIC!! It is easily labeled as Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Snack or Dessert. They have so many options that there is something for everyone!! I found myself trying new things each month. I ended up losing 7lbs in the first week and 79 over the course of 9 months. That was 4 years ago and the weight has stayed off. I still order the food today, because of the value and quality. Before Nutrisystem I was spending around $12 a day just for lunch. With Nutrisystem I can get Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Snack and Dessert for under that!! I highly recommend this product to anyone!! Such a fantastic value and great food. If you are serious about losing weight give them a call and they will set you up. I am the first one to be skeptical about these things, but I can truly say this has changed my life!! What do you have to lose??

Joey M.

Price is great, food is great

5.0 rating
December 10, 2018

The price is great and the food is great. I can’t complain when I am losing and average of 10 lbs a month just sitting on my ass and eating not so bad food. The white chili meal I could do without. It is so hot. Thanks for making this weight loss program.

Kim D.

Cancellation fee?

1.0 rating
November 22, 2018

The program works if you stick too it, however their very deceptive when it comes to charges. I did one month of the plan and on the second month I took advantage of a 40% off a la carte ordering. When I went to cancel after the second month I was told there is a cancelation fee because I only made one order. They told me the second order doesn’t count because it wasn’t one of the plan ones. I am in the middle of disputing the $125 cancelation charge with my credit card company and if I don’t get refunded I will be closing that credit card too.

Joseph D.

Overall it works

4.0 rating
November 15, 2018

Decent program, certainly takes time and effort but overall I’d say it works. Got a great deal on Groupon and did a months worth with the frozen meals added. Managed to drop 25lbs in a little over a month on my way to a 45 lb weight loss. I changed NOTHING about my level of physical activity, just followed the Nutrisystem guidelines and added fruits and vegetables to all of my meals to help satisfy hunger. The only knock I have is some of the non frozen meals with meat tend to have a bit of an off-texture but that may just be me. Frozen foods are a bit better. I would recommend this program for someone who is stuck in their food ways and needs to make serious changes regarding portion control, after a month or two of Nutrisystem you should be well on your way to lasting changes.

Jacalyn M.

Nutrisystem worked twice for me!

5.0 rating
August 5, 2018

I’ve gone on Nutrisystem twice and it worked both times for me. I can’t afford to stay on it for years, but I lost 20 pounds on it 3 years ago, and am on it again and I’ve lost 12 pounds in the first month. If you don’t mind a lot of prepared food it should work for you for at least 6 months.

Betsy C.

It worked for 6 months then i quit

4.0 rating
May 10, 2018

I was on Nutrisystem for 4 months and lost about 25 pounds. Then I quit and have been on a DIY version of Nutrisystem after that. I think being on Nutrisystem for several months allowed me to structure and improve my eating habits. Now i eat 6 small meals per day including protein bars, fruit, and lean cuisine from the super market. If other diets have failed for you, then you should at least consider Nutrisystem. It can feel restrictive, but free diets and apps didn’t work for me.

LaDawn S.

I am so happy with this diet program

5.0 rating
April 10, 2018

The food is really delicious! I am so happy with this diet program. I tried the other competitors and never succeeded. I lost weight when I was 25 yrs old with nutrisystem, and I’m losing again now at 60. Again, the food is so surprisingly GOOD! And satisfying! There is no sacrifice. 10x’s better then supermarket lite meals. (And I am a fussy eater. I won’t even eat diner food!) You NEED to commit to at least 2 months to try all the food choices, and get use to the proper portion sizes you will need to eat for life going forward. You will not regret it. I was a little sceptable at first too. I’m in my second month and I’m so thrilled how I’ve learned portion control, without sacrifice, and feel full. How awesome it is, to have such a huge choice of foods at dinner, after a long day at the office. I just ate my first meatloaf sandwich. IT WAS GREAT!! My pants are fitting comfortably now. I’m so grateful to be succeeding. Thank you nutrisystem, for the quality of your program!

Donna K.

Nutrisystem Does Work, but it’s expensive

3.0 rating
March 2, 2018

I am in the senior age bracket and I was on Nutrisystem 2 years ago. I started in April and lost the advertised 10 pounds in the first week. Every week after that I continued to lose weight at lesser levels and after 30 pounds in 3 months the weight no longer came off. The diet does have a high fiber count but no higher than the recommended FDA listings. yes, you do go to the bathroom regularly but most seniors do not eat enough fiber anyways. After the first month and having tried everything they sent I started to order a-la-carte. Choosing your own meals makes the dining easier but the better tasting food is also more expensive.
I work a distance from home, my wife is away on travel for most the weeks so I do most of the weekly house maintenance and as such don’t have a lot of time to exercise. I feel that is mostly why I stopped losing weight.
I decided after 6 months, 3 of which showed no weight loss beyond the 30 that I would stop and save myself the $450 a month and portion control myself. Even though I watched how much I ate, the weight started to come back. Now a year and half later I am right back at my starting weight.
Nutrisystem does work. It is expensive and they don’t really give you the information you need to be able to go it alone without their prepared meals. Also, alcohol is off the menu unless you want to go without one of the daily snacks. If you do go without then you are allowed one regular glass of wine.
I am contemplating going back on Nutrisystem but I dislike the yoyo effect.

Kevin R.

Good program but I need discipline

2.0 rating
January 10, 2017

Hard time after food stopped. Hungry and eating every few hours. No real help available from counseling. Too hard to figure out myself without their food and schedule. Good program. But you have to be married to it. Get tired of food after awhile. Maybe I should just sew up my mouths

Paula G.

Want to read more Nutrisystem reviews? Check out user reviews on: nutrisystem.com | google reviews (reviews on right nav)


 

Submit Your Review:

Have you tried Nutrisystem? If you have, please share your honest review with us below: